Have an account? Login 


We can’t do it
without you
Donate Now »

Contact Us

To Report Cruelty/Neglect and Animal Emergencies 24-Hours a Day
(202) 723-5730

District of Columbia Animal Care and Control Facility & New York Avenue Adoption Center
Oglethorpe Street Adoption Center
National Capital Area Spay & Neuter Center
Humane Law Enforcement
Training and Behavior
Administrative Office

For all media requests and interviews, please contact:
Matt Williams, Senior Director of Communications
matt.williams@warl.org, 202-375-7750

District of Columbia Animal Care and Control Facility & New York Avenue Adoption Center
(Operated for the District of Columbia Dept of Health by the Washington Humane Society)

1201 New York Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20002

Open for adoptions:
Tues - Sun 12 p.m. - 7 p.m.*
Closed for adoptions on Mondays
202-727-7369 / 202-727-5494

Director of Operations
Claudia Roll
202-576-6664 croll@washhumane.org 

Director of Rehoming
Lauren Lipsey

Director of Animal Control Field Services
Ray Noll

Wildlife Specialist

Transfer Coordinator
Please contact for more information on how to help find homes for animals by becoming a transfer partner

Volunteer Program (all information, including application, can be found here)

Georgia Avenue Adoption Center --- Closed as of April 4, 2016

*All adoptable animals have been moved to our Oglethorpe St Adoption Center (info below)

7319 Georgia Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20012

Oglethorpe Street Adoption Center

71 Oglethorpe Street, NW          MAILING ADDRESS - please send all mail to this address
Washington, DC 20011

Open for adoptions:
Tues-Sun 12 p.m.-7 p.m.*
Closed for adoptions on Mondays


National Capital Area Spay & Neuter Center

1001 L Street, SE
Washington, DC 20003

Hours of Operation
Spay/Neuter Surgery – Monday-Thursday (by appointment only)

Walk-In Vaccine Clinic – Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. (no appointment necessary, arrive before 1:30 p.m. to guarantee service) 

Medical Director
Megan McAndrew, DVM

Community Cat Programs Manager (stray or feral cat resources and TNR)

Nikolette Cochran
202-608-1356, ext. 101

Humane Law Enforcement

7315 Georgia Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20012

Director of Humane Law Enforcement
Zita Macinanti
202- 723-5730, ext. 135  zmacinanti@washhumane.org

Administrative Offices 

71 Oglethorpe St NW
Washington, DC 20011

President and CEO
Lisa LaFontaine

Chief Community Animal Welfare Officer

Scott Giacoppo
202-735-0330, ext. 227 sgiacoppo@washhumane.org

Chief Operating Officer
Stephanie Shain
202-735-0330, ext. 228 sshain@washhumane.org

Chief Development Officer
Julie A. Conway
202-735-0330, ext. 203  jconway@washhumane.org

Chief Communications Officer
David M. Smith
202-375-7742 dsmith@washhumane.org 

Director of Strategic Operations
Beau Archer
202-723-5730, ext. 154

Director of Community Philanthropy
Carol King
202-375-7754 cking@washhumane.org

Development Department
202-375-7745  development@washhumane.org

Director of Special Events 
Emily Miller
202-683-1822  emiller@washhumane.org

Human Resources

Seen abuse Lost or Found a Pet?
Get Involved! WHS in the Community


Virgil Pet of the Week


Looking for a friend?
Meet one today!